Reading Les Miserables, One Chapter At a Time

One of my new year’s resolutions is to read the novel Les Miserables by Victor Hugo and blog about it. I will try to be interesting enough that others will want to join me in my pursuit. This work of fiction has 365 chapters. Therefore, if I expect to finish the book by the end of the year, I should be on my thirtieth chapter today.

Each chapter is a few pages in length, so I have been reading in fits and starts. I read several chapters one day and then skip a day or two. For a while I was caught up, but I got busy and now I am way behind.

I finished the first book of volume I, which contained fourteen chapters and described M. Myriel, a bishop who has a profound influence on the main character, in extravagant detail. Now that I have begun the second book, Jean Valjean has been introduced. I got so excited by the entrance of the main character that I stopped reading after fifteen chapters.

I didn’t want to stop, but once I did, I had trouble getting started again. I was working on my novel, and even began another novel. Life interrupted. I had to watch TV. I have read that television is one of the greatest interrupters of writers. I don’t watch that much, but when I do…

Now I am half a month behind in my reading. When I begin again, in a few minutes, I will try to read several chapters. I enjoy reading a book and viewing the movie that it inspires, and comparing the two. It’s wonderful when I can enjoy both, in different ways.

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in literary, novel, review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

