A Man and a Moon

the moon

Not long ago I read that television viewing is a major hindrance to the writing process. While I agree with this, some television viewing is helpful to the rumination process. The other night I was engrossed in The Man in the Moon, a coming-of-age story that I missed seeing when it came out in 1991. I must have been otherwise occupied with my three young children.

I am rewriting the novel that I wrote during NaNoWriMo 2011 and published as an e-book. In my quest to see the fruit of my labors in black and white on the World Wide Web (tada!) I rushed the process. I tried to say too much too fast.

Taking several steps back is helping me to simplify the story I am trying to tell. I believe that the simple, classic plot of The Man in the Moon helped me to see and appreciate the beauty of simplicity. I highly recommend it.

It is the tale of sisters living in rural Louisiana during a summer in the 1950s. They both fall in love with the same boy, who solves their dilemma by dying in a tractor accident. It is both heartbreaking and comforting, and is a realistic portrayal of family life and the conflicting emotions of adolescence.

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in review, young adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

