Flight Behavior – A Review

Ever since I read Pigs in Heaven, I have been a fan of Barbara Kingsolver. This week I took a break from reading Les Miserables to check out Ms. Kingsolver’s most recent book, Flight Behavior. So far I am enjoying it as much as all of the other books I have read that she has penned.

This story takes place in the Appalachian Mountains of Tennessee during an extraordinarily wet year. The main character, Delarobia Turnbow, makes an accidental discovery that sets in motion local, national, and international reactions to the reality of climate change. Economic, environmental, and political issues are seamlessly woven into a story about one young woman’s struggles with rural poverty on a sheep farm. Nearing the middle of the book, I can hardly wait to find out what happens next. This is nature fiction at its best.

flight-behavior

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in literary, novel, review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flight Behavior – A Review

  1. I’ve just finished it and enjoyed it too, while also slow reading Les Mis.

Leave a Reply

