Mama Geese

three geese with goslings 1

There is a family of four goslings along with assorted adult geese at the pond where I take my daily walk. They are quite entertaining to watch, as the two parent Canada geese shepherd their little ones back and forth across the water, with an apparently female  Chinese goose supervising activities.

three geese with goslings 2

Auntie seems to play a pivotal role. I discovered that Chinese geese are useful as “guards”. ¬†Here is an interesting article about a Chinese goose that adopted Canadian goslings at a rescue site. They appear to be adept in the same role as the sheep dog: herding.

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in illustration, short story, writing prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

