Wednesday Words: Script Frenzy Day 11

One third of the way through Script Frenzy month, on day eleven, and I am rolling along. I am a little behind on page count, at barely 27 pages, but with the holiday weekend behind me, I am bound to catch up soon.

Getting started is always the hardest part, but then there is usually a slump somewhere in the middle. Because I am adapting my own novel, I’m not as challenged by plot, etc. as I would be if I were working from scratch. But, I have made some major changes to the beginning, so that was tough. Also, I know nothing about writing a script, for the screen or anywhere else. So it has really helped that I have been able to access the Script Frenzy writer resources, especially the sample scripts. I am getting the basic format down, but will undoubtedly have quite a bit of refining to do next month and beyond

The process is fun, and I enjoy watching the movie in my head as my story unfolds. When I wrote my novel during National Novel Writing Month last November, I saw my story as a movie in my head. Perhaps I should have started with the screenplay, as Nicholas Sparks did with The Last Song. I know this experience is good for me, especially as I have always shied away from dialogue. Onward!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in high school, illustration, literary, middle school, young adult and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

