The Hum in the Air

April is showering where I live, and my Spring Fever is raging. The birds around my home are turning up the volume, and I am on the prowl to locate and identify them. This task has become more difficult now that the bare winter branches are decked out in fresh spring greenery.

Grass Valley female Anna's Hummingbird front

First thing this morning, as I stood on the porch meditating on my surroundings after a week away, I heard a familiar humming and clicking. I wandered around until I spotted a hummingbird feeding on the blooming groundcover that surrounds the cabin. The lavendar flowers are just the ticket for a bird with a suitable bill.

Grass Valley female Anna's Hummingbird side

I took several photos before I got close enough to capture a couple of decent shots. I just love hummingbirds. They have such cute little feet. This one appears to be a female Anna’s. I hope there is a nearby nest. I will be listening and watching, so this story is just beginning.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in illustration, short story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hum in the Air

  1. Pingback: The little humming-bird | Thinking aloud….

  2. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Cheers

Leave a Reply

