An Avian Tale

A visitor dropped by this morning who looked familiar. I had gone outside in search of a distinct call near my window, and discovered this friendly songbird perched on an unoccupied bird house. It kept an eye on me until a pal approached, and they flew away together.

flycatcher

Later this afternoon the bird returned, and I was able to photograph it as it roamed the area. I identified it as an Olive-sided Flycatcher. It is listed by the US government and national conservation organizations as a species of concern due to its habitat requirements.

flycatcher 1

These songbirds will use logged forests instead of their preferred habitat, post-burn forests, which have elements that are not present in a cut over forest. The population of this species has declined considerably over the last eighty years.

flycatcher 2

I enjoyed the visit. It has been many years since I have seen this flycatcher. Their distinctive call reminds me of a melodic drip. Hopefully this charming bird will continue to thrive.

flycatcher 3

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in illustration, writing prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

