To NaNo Or Not To NaNo

Paper Dolly final cover 1Now that National Novel Writing Month is officially over, the question must be asked: Was it worth the effort, the struggle, the guilt? Even if you did not meet the final goal of 50,000 words, did you create something that will be completed at some point in the near future?

For me, NaNoWriMo is a motivation tool. The first year that I participated, I completed the task and went on to self publish an e-book. It has not sold because I have not marketed it. I have not marketed it because it needs to be rewritten. It is festering on shelves as we speak, because until I am ready for the task of tackling it again, why not leave it out there? It is something of an embarrassment, but it IS out there. First novels should be free of judgement.

Last year I passed the halfway mark in my NaNo attempt. I have a good idea, but got stuck on the resolution of my conflict. Someday I will get back to it, I promise. This year, I am nowhere near completion. But I have a detailed outline complete with pitch and synopsis. I know where I am going. My excitement about this journey should be enough to keep me going to completion. Maybe the third time will be a charm in terms of producing a marketable product. But marketing and sales aside, each novel attempt is the telling of a story, a creative act that is the most satisfying thing I have experienced outside of childbirth. Honest.

What do you think about all this hooha? Is NaNoWriMo good for you, or just another opportunity to view yourself as a failure? You are a big winner in my eyes if you make the attempt. It is a very brave thing to do.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in literary, novel, short story, tale and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To NaNo Or Not To NaNo

  1. sophiebowns says:

    Ahh, I’ve heard of NaNoWriMo!

Leave a Reply

