Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Nevada County Reads & Writes! 2014 Selection

Nevada County Reads & Writes! 2014 Selection

My first fiction review of 2014 is John Green’s critically acclaimed young adult bestseller, The Fault in Our Stars (2012). I had considered purchasing this book to read on my Kindle, and it was in the back of my mind, waiting for its time to gain my full attention. Then, the week before Christmas, I noticed its hardcover version perched on a table in our living room.

Living room may be an exaggeration. My husband and I currently reside in a one bedroom log cabin. The living room is the main room, distinguished only by the fact that it isn’t the kitchen.

Imagine my surprise at the unexpected appearance of this celebrated novel. My first thought was that Santa had visited a bit early. In fact, my spouse was gifted The Fault In Our Stars not by Santa Claus, but by the Nevada County Superintendent of Schools. It has been chosen as the community book for Nevada County Reads & Writes! for 2014. This program features community events which include a writing competition.

I grabbed my husband’s new book on my way out the door, and had trouble putting it down that afternoon as I chewed on it while sitting in the car. I can be a voracious reader. A couple of nights later, I was having trouble putting it down again, this time after midnight.

It warms my heart that Hazel and Augustus, the teen stars of this comic tragedy, also read late at night, one of my favorite things to do since adolescence. If you are a late night reader, this may be the book for you. But save the sad parts for daylight.

It is bittersweet and suspenseful. Hazel and Augustus meet in a cancer support group for teens and immediately become close friends and conspirators. They fall in love while keeping each other going toward the inevitable. If they can suck it up, so can we. The Fault In Our Stars puts life and death in perspective in a way that reminds us to make every day count. Life is, after all, for living. If you haven’t made a new year’s resolution, this book is it. It will appeal to a wide audience.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in fiction, literary, novel, review, young adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

