Book Preview: The Hunger Games

hunger gamesI may be the only one of my kind (whatever that is) to not have read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (2008). Sometimes I don’t want to read what everyone else is reading. Even if it is recommended to me. Science Fiction was never really my thing. Now I realize how much I often miss by not trying new things. All in due time, I discover my mistakes.

Curiosity persuaded me to watch the movie based on this award-winning work of dystopian fiction recently, and I was pleasantly surprised. It exceeded my expectations. When I was considering buying the novel, I read a preview, and then moved on. The idea of children fighting to the death did not appeal to me. Now I see how much it resembles the gladiator games, with modern political and technical twists, and seamlessly blends adolescent issues of loyalty, fear, and justice.

So I am looking forward to reading the book after seeing the movie, and expecting to enjoy it even more.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in games, literary, novel, preview, science fiction, young adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

