Book Review: Centennial

centennialBack in the mid-1980’s I was living in Northern Colorado with my husband and two young daughters, working for the National Park Service in Rocky Mountain National Park. Sam is a loyal fan of James Michener, and I borrowed his book, Centennial (1974). It was made into a miniseries, which I remember watching . I probably read it after I saw it on television.

I am not a history person, in fact history was always my least favorite subject in school. But my husband is a history teacher. This novel kept my attention, though. It is an intricately detailed chronology of events from pre-history to modern times, and describes the natural history of the eastern plains of Colorado in a way that can be appreciated by someone like me, who is more interested in natural science. I recommend reading it whether you live in Colorado or not. This is a great book to curl up with when the temperature drops below zero.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in fiction, historical fiction, literary, novel, review, western and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

